A DrumDictionary Update

Not much has happened around here the last few weeks for me to write about. I’ve mostly been busy with finishing up my classes for the semester and haven’t had hardly any time to work on the new app. Sad face. After I missed my earlier goal for releasing the app in October, I was going to shoot for a holiday release. And now, I’ve missed that timeframe too! That’s alright though. The more I think about it, the more I realize that it’s probably a bad time to release anyway. I had great sales numbers last year at Christmas, but that was on an already established product, and I was fortunate enough to get a nice feature in several app stores worldwide. When it comes to releasing a new app, however, it seems like so many people shoot for December, and so many people/companies put their apps on sale for the holidays that the competition is just insane! So, while I’m a little sad the app isn’t done yet, I don’t mind taking a little more time to get it right and release at more reasonable time. One thing I am going to try to crank out here in the next few days though is an update to my current app theDrumDictionary. It’s been a while since I’ve added any new content, and I’m sure people are wondering if I’ve abandoned the app. For this type of an app, though, I think it’s really important to keep people engaged and keep new content coming. The problem is, after several months of no updates, I’m getting pretty much the same average downloads per day, so it’s hard to be motivated to keep working on it! Whenever I get time to work on apps, I just want to work on the new one and get it done, not spend my time on this other one that’s already doing OK. Anyone else ever get that feeling? How do you find the balance between working on new stuff and maintaining the old, especially when you’re not using any IAP, so there’s no monetary incentive for providing more content? I’d love to hear some of your strategies or tips!

Leave a Reply

